網路儲存伺服器 | Thecus N8900 - 一應俱全2U機架式網路儲存伺服器(NAS)

網路儲存伺服器 | 大企業用戶-機架式

N8900 一應俱全2U機架式網路儲存伺服器(NAS)
  • 第二代 Intel® Core™ i3
  • 支援SATA III 和SAS 6G
  • USB 3.0主控模式接口
  • HDMI輸出
  • 支援10GbE
  • 24TB 的龐大儲存空間以滿足企業級用戶
 

得奬榮耀/媒體評測

2012-04-02
Media: Foxnetwork | Country: Russia
“我們非常高興能針對色卡司N8900進行測試,這台是我們測試過速度最快的8-bay NAS。其SATA及SAS的支援讓這台設備能提供有趣的解決方法,並更加適合企業用戶使用。”
2012-02-13
Media: CNET Australia | Country: Australia

“…這裡也有各種模組提供安裝額外的功能,像是新聞群組下載器(a newsgroup downloader)、郵件伺服器、IP cam工具、TwonkyMedia 伺服器、Torrent 應用程式、Dropbox支援等。”

2012-01-31
Media: PC PRO | Country: UK

“IP SAN的效能表現實在是令人讚賞。我們將100GB的檔案傳送到Dell伺服器,透過Gigabit的讀取速度可達112MB/sec;換成10GbE進行測試,竟在Iometer 報告上出現了780MB/sec 的超驚人讀取速度,拖拉檔案方面也有500MB/sec的優越表現。”  

2012-01-17
Media: HWM Malaysia | Country: Malaysia
“色卡司N8900是一台極為出眾的NAS,提供辦公室所需的龐大儲存空間以保存重要資料。其除了安裝簡易,所具備的眾多功能也讓使用環境變得更加彈性。”
2011-12-12
Media: TweakTown | Country: USA
“…這是很長一段時間以來第一次覺得非常滿意。其同時具有強大的硬體設備,以及相當精細的軟體設計。你只要將此設備與其它設備相比,就能明顯地看出差異。N8900無疑是一台極致的卓越產品,並帶領色卡司走向一個全新的世代。”

產品特性

  • 支援高可用性 (HA)
    支援高可用性 (High Availability),是目前企業確保資料安全與防止系統因故障停機最有效的作法。在兩台配備相同的NAS主機上同步備份資料,當第一台主機發生問題需要進行修復時,會立即切換至第二台主機以維持穩定的運作效能。當修復動作進行的同時,第二台主機能持續穩定的服務,絲毫不影響企業營運。
  • SATA III 與 SAS 6G
    色卡司NAS支援超高速傳輸速度的SATA III和SAS 6G硬碟,傳輸速度可達驚人的6 Gbit / s!同時也與原有的 SATA II 相容,讓您可輕易使用原有的舊硬碟。
  • PLEX 多媒體伺服器
    Plex多媒體伺服器就像是數位多媒體的心臟和大腦。從色卡司® NAS APP Center,下載與安裝免費的Plex軟體到你的NAS。就可透過連接在網路上的各種設備(如您的Xbox 360和行動裝置)來播放存在NAS中的各種多媒體檔案。
     
  • 快照備份
    透過BTRFS格式支援,色卡司NAS用戶將可享受快照備份的便利性。快照備份可經由手動或自動設定備份時間生成快照檔案並儲存在快照備份專屬空間,使用者可自行選擇某個時間段的快照備份並輕鬆完成還原工作。
    • Disk Clone、Disk Wipe
      透過Disk Clone可將硬碟內容完整複製於另一顆硬碟,而Disk Wipe可徹底並永久銷毀儲存資料、不留痕跡。
       
      • VPN伺服器
        VPN伺服器允許使用者經由加密網路進行遠端登入,而使用VPN伺服器讓企業更有效率的透過高性價比、可擴展性又具備安全防護的私人網路連線管理重要商業機密。
      • 支援10GbE Fiber/10G Base-T
        10Gb 乙太網路將是企業邁向新世代的標準配備,色卡司網路儲存設備(NAS) 以平實的價格要讓一般使用者皆能輕鬆享受新世代10Gb 乙太網路所帶來的極速快感。
         
      • USB 3.0主控模式接口
        最新一代主控模式接口擁有比USB 2.0快10倍的速度。不論連接數位相機或智慧型手機、備份大型的外接硬碟,或者擴充你的網路儲存設備(NAS)的儲存空間,USB 3.0能確保以5 Gbit/s極快的速度完成並也能向下和USB 2.0及USB 1.1 相容。
         
      • 隨機附贈Acronis True Image
        Acronis Quick Backup軟體讓用戶能手動執行檔案資料備份或執行差異性備份,只需簡單幾個步驟,就能夠將用戶的檔案資料存放在一個安全的地方。此外,透過Acronis True Image Personal Backup,用戶能夠選擇備份完整的檔案資料,或只選擇重要的檔案資料作備份,更方便的是,用戶還能夠針對備份的檔案資料作編輯,再也不會因為備份軟體太過複雜或簡易而有所限制,體驗前所未有的彈性。
      • Dual DOM保護機制
        A Disk On Module (DOM) 擁有系統所有的關鍵軟體,而無論什麼原因失效或損壞,系統的韌體就會無法運作或者出現更糟糕的情況。色卡司®獨特的 Dual DOM (OS Redundancy) 保護機制,就是當主要的DOM 發生錯誤時,會有第二顆DOM 自動修復第一顆,也就是說你的資料檔案會一直處在安全可使用的狀態。
      • 多重磁碟陣列(RAID)
        色卡司網路儲存設備(NAS)可以依照使用者對效能和資料保護的不同需求在不同的券冊(Volume)設定各種磁碟陣列(RAID): RAID 0, 1, 5, 6, 10, 50, 60及JBOD。並可使用線上磁碟陣列升級(online RAID migration)、線上擴充磁碟空間(online expansion)、熱備援(hot spare)和自動重建來保護儲存的檔案資料。
      • 支援多種檔案系統
        色卡司網路儲存伺服器(NAS)支援多種檔案系統: EXT3、EXT4、Btrfs 及XFS。使用者可在不同的券冊(Volume)中選擇所需的檔案系統格式。
         
      • iSCSI儲存資源隨需分配 (Thin-Provisioning)
        有了高速傳輸的iSCSI及iSCSI資源隨需分配技術,讓企業能夠更有效地運用儲存空間。透過iSCSI連結來快速傳輸資料,提供使用者更多使用彈性並減少儲存空間的浪費。
         
      • 支援iOS/Android系統
        現在全球最備受注目的趨勢就是無論在甚麼地方都能存取資料。藉由色卡司T-OnTheGo和T-Dashboard,使用者能夠管理你的網路儲存設備(NAS),並透過iOS or Android設備上傳/下載/瀏覽網路儲存設備(NAS)裡的檔案。
         
      • Rsync備份模組
        能夠有效率地管理備份檔案資料,是現今非常重要的課題,而針對不同使用者,大家都有特定的儲存需求。色卡司Rsync備份模組能夠依照用戶的需求提供不同的服務, 例如: 遠端備份功能、彈性的時程安排,同時提供Linux-based傳輸的穩定性。
         
      • 使用者磁碟空間管理
        龐大的儲存空間可以分配給色卡司網路儲存設備(NAS)的眾多使用者。無論是兩個或者是100個使用者,都能輕輕鬆鬆地分配並管理硬碟空間。
         
      • PCI-e插槽
        色卡司的網路儲存設備(NAS) 已經擁有豐富的創新技術。如果企業用戶想獲取閃電般的傳輸速度,可自行在PCI-e插槽上安裝10Gb乙太網路卡。
         

產品概要

在此之前,色卡司已經推出過8 bay 機架式網路儲存伺服器,如搭載Intel® Atom™ 雙核心處理器的N8200XXX,擁有極佳的效能與經濟價值,非常符合市場上希望以較低價格取得龐大儲存空間的使用者。還有全球首款高效能機架式SAS網路儲存設備N8800SAS,讓ㄧ向以創新技術聞名業界的色卡司佳評不斷。今天,色卡司隆重推出一款擁有更強勁效能表現並能滿足大多數挑剔使用者的高階網路儲存伺服器N8900,除了搭配USB3.0, HDMI 輸出並支援10Gb 乙太網路卡…等等,還有更多的特點讓我們一起來了解。

極致硬體設備搭配更卓越的效能表現

市場上最新一代的CPU Intel® Core™ i3-2120雙核心3.3GHz處理器搭配上N89008GB DDR3記憶體可以說是完美結合。使其得以滿足企業的所有需求:快速建立磁碟陣列(RAID)、多工處理(multitasking)、反應式虛擬環境(reactive virtualized environments)、應用服務(application serving)等。

為了強化你資料的安全性, N8900具有色卡司獨特功能: Dual DOMTM 保護機制。 DOM (Disk On Module)就相當於電腦中的BIOS :無論什麼原因失效或損壞,你的資料就會永遠消失。而Dual DOM保護機制就是當主要的DOM 發生錯誤時,會有第二顆DOM 自動嘗試修復第一顆DOM。因此,因為DOM錯誤造成損害的發生機率下降了67%,這都要感謝色卡司的Dual DOMTM 保護機制!

彈性的擴充功能設計

N8900嵌入了最優質的連接裝置:兩個USB 3.0主控模式接口、音頻輸出/輸入及HDMI連接口。讓使用者在寫模組時有更多元化的選擇,這必須歸功於色卡司全新的軟體開發套件。

除此之外,N8900擁有幾個PCI-e 擴充插槽 (一組 4-lane和兩組 8-lane 插槽),幾乎適用於各種外加功能,因此你可以決定要增加更多的USB 3.0主控模式接口或eSATA轉換接口。而對於擁有更高階需求的企業,也能選擇安裝一個10Gb 乙太網路卡,並透過這個外接卡使用傳統的光纖或具有高效能/低價格的Base-T 網路線!

說到了彈性, N8900 是一個能夠兼容所有常使用到的檔案系統:Ext3、Ext4及XFS, 還包括 Link aggregation六種模式讓效能表現達到極致,再加上6G SAS硬碟,使效果得以完美呈現!

產品規格

1.硬體規格
項目 規格
處理器 Intel® Core™ i3-2120 (3.3GHz Dual Core)
處理器相容列表 Intel Sandybridge Celeron Pentium / Core i3 / XEON
**注: 僅提供給 OEM/標案, 詳情請接洽Thecus Sales 
系統記憶體 8GB DDR3 SDRAM
記憶體最大可擴充 32GB Memory Compatibility List
網路介面 3個 RJ-45 的10/100/1000M Base-TX 乙太網路接口,支援Auto MDI/MDI-X
支援 WOL
USB介面 六個 USB 2.0 主控模式接口 (2前4後,A-Type)
兩個 USB 3.0 主控模式接口 (2後)
LED 指示燈 電源:藍光
系統忙碌:黃光
系統警告:電源供應器或風扇失效 (紅光)
HDD1-8:動作中/失敗(綠光/紅光)
OLED 模組 2.8” OLED 液晶顯示幕
4個控制按鈕 (ENTER, ESC, UP, DOWN)
支援多國語言
HDMI output HDMI 接口 (背後 x1)
Audio MIC input, Line input, Audio output
SAS/SATA 控制卡 LSI 2008 HBA card supports 6G SAS/SATA
10GbE NIC (Optional x3)
硬碟介面 8 x SATA/SAS 內部硬碟接口,支援SATA II / SATA III硬碟介面
1 x eSATA for 外部硬碟接口 HDD/SSD Compatibility List
電源供應器 500W以上熱備援電源供應器
PCI-e 插槽 8-lane (x3), SAS HBA 使用
4-lane (x1)
1-lane (x1) CU30N (USB 3.0) 使用
熱感控制 經由熱感器來監控系統溫度
系統風扇 熱插拔 (x2)
按鈕 電源按鈕
LCM 按鈕 (ENT, ESC, UP, DOWN)
重開機按鈕
定位按鈕
RS232 UPS 使用
工作環境 環境溫度: 5°C to 40°C
環境濕度: 0 ~ 80 % R.H. (開放式)
Chassis 2U 機架式
尺寸 (HxWxD) 87 x 437.5 x 595 (mm)/ 3.43 x 17.22 x 23.43 (in)
重量 16.67(Kgs)/36.75(lb)(NAS only)

2. 軟體功能
磁碟陣列(RAID)
磁碟陣列模式 RAID 0, 1, 5, 6, 10, 50, 60 及JBOD
自動重建 支援
硬碟熱抽換(Hot swap) 支援
Dedicated線上備援硬碟 支援
Global線上備援硬碟 支援
線上磁碟陣列移轉 支援
線上磁碟陣列擴充 支援
磁碟陣列加密模式 AES256bit
磁碟管理
電源管理 當超過閒置時間,硬碟將自動進入省電模式(Spin Down)
磁碟檢查 支援
SMART資訊 支援
SMART測試 支援
磁碟漫遊 可支援漫遊至另一台N8900
網路
配置 固定IP 位址、動態IP位址
IP分享模式 可選擇開啟或關閉
傳輸協定 TCP/IP/Appletalk
檔案格式協定 SMB/CIFS, HTTP/HTTPS, FTP, NFS v4, AFP
連結支援 802.3ad, Load Balancing(網路負載平衡), Failover(失效接管), Balance-XOR, Balance-TLB, Balance-ALB
資料存取
用戶端作業系統支援 Windows XP and after
Windows Server 2003 and after
UNIX/Linux
Mac OS X
FTP 支援頻寬控制的檔案傳輸協定
SFTP 支援頻寬控制的加密檔案傳輸協定
印表機伺服器(IPP) 支援USB 印表機
支援各式網路印表機(IP Print)
用戶端可經由Web介面來管理所有印表的佇列工作(顯示&刪除)
資料備份
用戶端資料備份排程 Acronis True image(OEM version)
用戶端系統失效回覆 Acronis True image(OEM version)
NAS遠端備份複製系統 經由 Rsync 在兩台系統中做備份.
備份 USB 資料到N8900 透過LCM控制
NAS & USB雙向複製
(模組)
支援時程安排
麥金塔時光回溯 支援麥金塔時光回溯機功能
區塊層級的存取
iSCSI Target/Initiator 支援Microsoft/Mac OS X/Linux initiators and Thecus NAS targets
iSCSI儲存資源隨需分配 (iSCSI Thin Provisioning) 可調整虛擬空間(最大16TB)
MPIO 支援
MCS 支援
Clustering 支援
SCSI3 persistent group reservation 支援
電源管理
排程自動開/關機 支援
資料卷冊管理
多重磁碟陣列 支援
可多選的檔案系統 EXT3/EXT4/XFS
多媒體支援
iTunes伺服器 支援的檔案型態:AAC, MP3 w/ ID3 tag, WAV
多媒體伺服器 支援uPnP AV串流協定
使用者認證權方式
本機使用者 可建立使用者帳戶
本機使用者群組 可建立使用者群組
Windows ADS 支援
檔案系統
檔案格式 Journaling 檔案系統
儲存容量 支援多兆位元組
支援的語言 支援萬國碼(Unicode)
權限控管(ACL) 可針對個人帳戶或群組帳戶管控檔案夾(含子目錄)讀/寫的權限
使用者容量限制 支援
管理工具/介面
支援多國語言網頁管理介面 網頁管理介面,可支援英文、繁中、簡中、日文、韓文、法文、德文、義大利文,西班牙文、俄文、波蘭文與葡萄牙文
工具程式 MS Windows 安裝精靈, 支援Windows 7/2000/XP/2003/Vista
Mac 安裝精靈 (OS X)
E-mail 通知系統 可經由E-mail寄發系統訊息給系統管理者
SNMP 管理功能 當系統錯誤時會透過SNMP通知管理者
其他
Dual DOM 支援
系統資源回收桶 支援
Web Server (模組) 支援
ISO Mount
(光碟影像檔的解壓縮)
支援
模組功能 支援
網路攝影機監視伺服器 (模組) 可支援高達10個IP CAM(網路攝影機)
HA高可用度架構 支援

包裝內容

Accessory Bag(with key) Acronis True Image DVD Universal CD HDD Compatibility List Card
Sliding Shelves

How To

NAS 101

NAS 連接

資料保護與備份

Thecus影片

Cost Effective Daisy-Chaining via SAS

With daisy chaining, users now have the ability to cost effectively increase their storage volume while maintaining fast transfers. To set up a daisy chain, one master NAS unit is installed as a controller with up to four DAS linked as slaves. SAS cables are then used to link the units together in order to ensure rapid speeds. The ability to reach tremendous capacities while saving nearly 30% on hardware costs (versus traditional storage architecture) is something truly groundbreaking in the industry.

Thecus NAS for Large Business Solution

Local Display

透過色卡司NAS的HDMI輸出及Local Display模組安裝,讓你直接在電視就能操作你的色卡司NAS,同時還能瀏覽相片、影片及音樂。此影片利用XBMC進行舉例說明如何進行相片、影片及音樂的播放。

Discover iSCSI and how to use it with a Thecus NAS

This tutorial is separated in three parts. The first part will teach you what's iSCSI and how it can be used. The second and third part would be practical demonstration on iSCSI Target/Initiator. Only the second part requires a Thecus NAS!

NAS: Storage for Home and Small Office

This video shows how a Network Attached Storage (NAS) solution with Intel® processors can help save time and increase productivity for small business and help organize, share and back-up your data at home. Simply dumping data onto external drives is no longer considered a good practice. Network Attached Storage (NAS) is surprisingly affordable and allows people to actually manage the data they store.

Thecus N8900 unboxing (Chinese)

色卡司最新企業級網路儲存設備N8900震撼登場! 這款強大的8-bay 機架式網路儲存設備,搭載第二代Intel Core™ i3 處理器及 8GB DDR3記憶體。讓我們一起透過N8900開箱影片來認識這極致之作吧!

NAS Server | Large Business - Rackmount

N8900 Full-Featured 2U Rackmount NAS Server
  • 2nd Generation Intel® Core™ i3
  • High Availability (HA)
  • Ultra-Fast SATA III and SAS 6G
  • USB 3.0 Connectivity
  • HDMI Connectivity
  • 10GbE Ready
 

Awards/Reviews

2012-04-02
Media: Foxnetwork | Country: Russia

“We are very satisfied with the Thecus N8900 we have just tested. This is the fastest 8-bay NAS we have ever seen before. SATA and SAS support makes this device an even more interesting solution for corporate use.”

2012-02-13
Media: CNET Australia | Country: Australia

“…there's also a bunch of modules that add extra functionality, like a newsgroup downloader, a mail server, an IP cam tool, a TwonkyMedia server, a torrent application, Dropbox support and more.”

2012-01-31
Media: PC PRO | Country: UK

“IP SAN performance is excellent as well, with a 100GB target assigned to the Dell server delivering a raw read speed of 112MB/sec over Gigabit. Swapping over to  10GbE saw Iometer report a huge read speed of 780MB/sec, with drag-and-drop file copies returning to 500MB/sec.”  

2012-01-17
Media: HWM Malaysia | Country: Malaysia

“The Thecus N8900 is a great NAS that can provide any office with ample mounts of storage for their important data. Besides being easy to setup, the N8900 comes with many features that allows it to be flexible.”

2011-12-12
Media: TweakTown | Country: USA

“…for the first time in a long time I'm walking away satisfied. The hardware is powerful and the software is very refined. Once you throw in how compatible the NAS is with other hardware the picture becomes very clear. The N8900 is a great product that will lead Thecus into a new generation of feature rich products.”

Features

  • High Availability (HA)
    For the first time, your data is completely free of delays in access. Regardless of the situation, HA actively keeps your data on two separate, identical NAS. If one needs maintenance, the other will dutifully rise to the occasion without as much as a blip in service. Whether rain, shine, or Armageddon, your data will always be there.
  • SATA III and SAS 6G
    SATA III and SAS 6G for Ultra-Fast Transfer Speeds Select Thecus NAS now support internal hard drives with SATA III and SAS 6G interfaces which feature top-of-the-line transfers speeds of up to an amazing 6 Gbit/s! They are also backwards-compatible with SATA II drives, so your old disks can still be swapped in and out without a hitch.
  • 10GbE Ready
    High-end data centers often need a level of speed that today’s average Internet cannot provide. This Thecus NAS is 10Gb Ethernet ready to satisfy the toughest needs of today and tomorrow.

  • USB 3.0 Connectivity
    The next generation of connectivity is here with speeds 10x faster than USB 2.0. Whether connecting digital cameras and smart phones, backing up large external hard drives, or extending the capacity of your NAS, USB 3.0 will make sure it's done in no time at up to 5 Gbit/s. Backwards compatibility adds the connectivity of a world full of USB 2.0 and USB 1.1 devices to get the best combination of speed and universal access.
  • Acronis True Image
    Thecus brings the best to the table with Acronis’s advanced backup software. Back up all your data with One-click Protection or pick and choose only your most important files. Acronis sports a slick interface, user-friendly design, and comprehensive features to keep your data safe.
  • Dual DOM
    A Disk On Module (DOM) contains all of the system's critical software. If it stops working for any reason, your system firmware could be inaccessible - or worse. With Thecus®' unique Dual DOM (OS Redundancy) design, a secondary DOM automatically reprograms the primary DOM if it fails, meaning your data is always safe and accessible.
  • Multiple RAID
    When it comes to data management, Thecus NAS truly let you have it your way. Create multiple RAID volumes each supporting different RAID modes including RAID 0, 1, 5, 6, 10,50, 60 and JBOD for your own balance of performance and data protection. Should a hard drive malfunction occur, changing one is simple thanks to online RAID migration and expansion, hot spare, and auto rebuild.
  • Multiple File Systems
    Support for multiple file systems including Ext3, EXT4, and XFS, gives Thecus NAS flexibility to handle many different types of environments. Users can simultaneously use different file systems across multiple RAID volumes to get the best of each one.

  • iSCSI Thin-Provisioning
    Get the most out of your storage space with the extreme speed of iSCSI and the efficiency of iSCSI thin provisioning. Connect through iSCSI for the fastest data transfer speeds available and make wasted disk space a thing of the past with thin provisioning's flexible storage functionality.
  • iOS/Android Connectivity
    In the modern world, nothing is as important as reaching your data from anywhere. With T-OnTheGo and the T-Dashboard, you can manage your NAS, and upload to and download/stream from your NAS using an iOS or Android device on the go.
  • Rsync
    Backing up your data is very necessary, and everyone has specific needs when it comes to storage. Thecus’s Rsync functionality gives users great flexibility with remote backup capability, a flexible scheduler, and the stability of Linux-based transfer.
  • User Quota
    Divide the massive storage of a Thecus NAS among multiple users. Whether there are two users or 100, user quotas make it easy to divvy up and manage disk space.

  • PCI-e slot
    Thecus NAS products are ready for a number of emerging technologies. Through the built in PCI-e slot, business users can add a 10G Ethernet Adaptor for lighting fast transfer speeds, or a USB 3.0 Adaptor Card to enjoy next-generation connectivity.

Overview

Thecus already has an 8 bay rackmount NAS, the N8200XXX featuring a quick Intel® Atom™ processor and providing a very good value. This product fills an important niche in the market and provides users with an excellently priced large storage NAS. Before this, Thecus was already known for innovative and powerful appliances such as the N8800SAS with SAS support and heavy-loaded hardware. With the N8900, they’ve decided to go one step further in performance and provide a state of the art NAS device for the most demanding users: USB3.0, HDMI output, and 10Gb Ethernet compatibility are only some of the key features included. Let’s have a closer look.

Powerful Hardware for Superior Performance

As part of the latest generation of leading CPUs on the market, the Intel® Core™ i3-2120 processor integrates 2 cores at 3.3GHz to match the N8900’s no less than 8GB of DDR3 memory. Fast RAID operations, multitasking, reactive virtualized environments, application serving, and more; anything your business needs.

To maximize your data safety, the N8900 benefits from a unique Thecus feature: Dual DOM design. The DOM (Disk On Module) is the equivalent of the BIOS on a computer: if it fails or gets corrupted for any reason, all your data can be lost forever. Thanks to Thecus Dual DOM design, there is a second DOM ready to replace or reprogram the first one. In this way, Thecus has reduced DOM failures by 67%!

A Design Focused on Flexibility

The N8900 also embeds what’s best for connectivity: two USB 3.0 ports, audio output/input, and an HDMI connection. Those will also give users even more possibilities when writing their own modules thanks to the brand new Thecus software developer kit.

In addition, the N8900 is built with several free PCI-e extension slots (one 4-lane and two 8-lane slots), which can be used for virtually everything. For instance, you can decide to add more USB 3.0 or eSATA slots. For companies with higher-end needs, you can choose to install a 10Gb Ethernet adapter, allowing you to use either traditional fiber or high-performance/low-cost base-T cables!

Speaking of flexibility, the N8900 is compatible with every common (and not so common) file system: Ext3, Ext4, and XFS. There are also 6 modes of link aggregation supported to maximize performance. Coupled with 6G SAS hard disks, the final results can’t be wrong!

Specs

1.Hardware Platform
Item Spec
Processor Intel® Core™ i3-2120 (3.3GHz Dual Core)
System Memory 8GB DDR3 SDRAM
LAN Interface (PCI-e) RJ-45x3: Intel 82574L 10/100/1000 BASE-TX Auto MDI/MDI-X
WOL supported
USB Interface USB 2.0 host port x6 (front x2, back x4) (Type A)
USB 3.0 host port x2 (back x2)
LED Indicator Power: (Blue)
System busy: (Yellow)
System alert: Redundant power or system fan failure (Red)
HDD 1-8 Activity/Fail (Green/Red)
OLED Displays system status and information (Multilingual)
HDMI Output HDMI port (Back x1)
Audio MIC input, Line input, Audio output
SAS/SATA controller (HBA), PCI-e (8-lane) LSI 2008 HBA card supports 6G SAS/SATA (x8)
Disk interface 8 x SATA/SAS for internal
1 x eSATA for external
Power Supply Redundant power supply 500W or more
PCI-e Slots 8-lane (x3), One is used by SAS HBA
4-lane (x1)
1-lane (x1) used by CU30N (USB 3.0)
Thermal/Fan Control Thermal sensor on processor temperature
CPU Fan control
System Fan Hot swappable (x2)
Buttons Power button(Front, shutdown controlled by user interface)
LCM button (ENT, ESC, UP, DOWN)
System reset button
Locator button
RS232 1 (For UPS)
Environment Temperature: 5°C to 40°C
Humidity: 0 ~ 80 % R.H. (Non-condensing)
Chassis 2U Rack mount
Dimensions (HxWxD)

87 x 437.5 x 595 (mm)/ 3.43 x 17.22 x 23.43 (in)

Weight 16.5(Kgs)/36.4(lb)

2. Software Functions
RAID
RAID Modes RAID 0, 1, 5, 6, 10, 50, 60 and JBOD
Auto-rebuild Supported
Hot-swap Supported
Dedicated Hot Spare Supported
Global Hot Spare Supported
Online RAID Migration Supported
Online RAID Expansion Supported
RAID Volume Encryption AES256bit
Disk
Power Management Available spin-down while idle setting
Bad Block Scanning Supported
SMART Info Supported
SMART Test Supported
Disk Roaming Supports volume-based roaming to other N8900
Network
Configuration Fixed IP address, dynamic IP address
IP sharing mode Can be enable/disabled
Transport Protocols TCP/IP/AppleTalk
File Protocols SMB/CIFS, HTTP/HTTPS, FTP, NFS v4, AFP
Link Aggregation Load balance, Failover, 802.3ad,  Balance-XOR, Balance-TLB, Balance-ALB
Data Access
Client OS Support Windows XP and after
Windows Server 2003 and after
UNIX/Linux
Mac OS X 
FTP Build-in FTP server with bandwidth control 
Secure FTP Build-in secure FTP Server with  bandwidth control
Printer Server (IPP) Supports USB printers
Supports a wide range of IPP printers
Client can manage print tasks  (list/delete) via web user interface
Data Backup
Client Incremental Data Backup Acronis True image(OEM version)
Client System Disaster Recovery Acronis True image(OEM version)
Single Volume Remote Replication Incremental or synchronized (via Rsync module)
USB device copy to NAS Controlled through LCM
Bi-directional USB copy Supported (via USB Copy module)
MAC time machine Supported
Block Level Access
iSCSI Target/Initiator Supports Microsoft/Mac OS X/Linux initiators and Thecus NAS targets
iSCSI Thin Provisioning Configurable to virtual size 16TB
MPIO Supported
MCS Supported
Clustering Supported
SCSI3 persistent group reservation Supported
Power management
Scheduled Power On/Off Supported
Volume management
Multiple RAID Supported
Multiple File System Selectable EXT3/EXT4/XFS
Multimedia Support
iTunes Server Supports AAC, MP3 w/ ID3 tag and WAV
Media Server Support uPnP AV streaming protocol
User Authentication
Local User Supports built-in user accounts
Local Group Supports built-in user groups
Windows ADS Supported
File System
Type Journaling File System
Language Support Unicode Support
Authorization (ACL) “Read”, “write”, or “deny” privileges to individual users or groups in folders and sub-folders
User Quota Supported
Administration
User Interface Web-based user interface supports English, Traditional Chinese, Simplified Chinese, Japanese, Korean, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Russian, Polish and Portuguese
Utility Program MS Windows Setup Wizard,
Supports Windows 2000/XP/2003/Vista/7
Mac OS X Setup Wizard
Email Notifications Sends system messages via e-mail to the system administrator
SNMP Trap System information trap out
Others
Dual DOM Supported
Recycle Bin Supported
Web Server Supported (via module)
ISO Mount Supported
User Module Supported
IP Cam Surveillance Supports up to 10 IP cameras (via module)
HA (High Availability) Supported

Package Contents

Accessory Bag(with key) Ethernet Cable Power Cord Acronis True Image DVD
Universal CD QIG Warranty Card HDD Compatibility List Card
Sliding Shelves

How To

NAS 101

Connecting to your NAS

Backup and Data Security

Thecus TV

Thecus NAS for Large Business Solution

Discover iSCSI and how to use it with a Thecus NAS

This tutorial is separated in three parts. The first part will teach you what's iSCSI and how it can be used. The second and third part would be practical demonstration on iSCSI Target/Initiator. Only the second part requires a Thecus NAS!

NAS: Storage for Home and Small Office

This video shows how a Network Attached Storage (NAS) solution with Intel® processors can help save time and increase productivity for small business and help organize, share and back-up your data at home. Simply dumping data onto external drives is no longer considered a good practice. Network Attached Storage (NAS) is surprisingly affordable and allows people to actually manage the data they store.

Thecus N8900 unboxing

Thecus's new enterprise rackmount NAS is flying off the shelves and filling businesses across the world. The N8900 is a powerful 8-bay NAS featuring the 2nd Generation Intel Core™ i3 processor and 8GB of DDR3. Watch this unboxing video to get a good idea of what you are buying when you purchase an N8900, inside and out.

Thecus® High Availability

For businesses, having constant access to their data is always of vital importance. High Availability (HA) is the most sophisticated system for keeping your data safe and within reach at all times. By running two parallel NAS, HA allows constant synchronization between the two.

Thecus’s supersized N12000, N16000 serise and N8900 are equipped with the High Availability (HA) function. Find out more on Thecus TV, where Thecus shows how HA works on the example of Thecus’s biggest N16000 NAS.